Thank you!

A huge thank you to everyone who has helped us with the project, our local Knitting for History team and everyone who donated yarn and supplies from granny squares to blankets.  We are well on our way to reaching the goal of covering the plane, with support from all across North America. Thank you to each and every one of you has helped make this project possible – we couldn’t have done it without you!  The support from so many people what makes a public art project of this scale so wonderful.  For the full list of contributors, please check out our donations page.   I wanted to share letters from some of our contributors.

“Hello Jessica,

I heard about your yarn bombing project from a colleague and our knitting group at the NAC would like to make a donation of knitting to your project.”

It came with a BIG box of knitting.

“There are a variety of pieces in the box which I hope will come in handy as you wrap the DC-3.  These are actually left over pieces from a Winterlude project that we were involved with to wrap the trees in Confederation Park in the winter of 2010.  I’ve been trying to recycle them and when I heard about your project it sounded like the perfect way to do that.

I’ve liked the Yarn Bomb Yukon on Facebook and will be eagerly watching your progress.  I’ve also passed this information along to all my fellow knitters in hopes that you will receive more donations.

All the best with your project!

Barb

Barbara Irving

Graphics

National Arts Centre  ”

Pretty prestigious letter, we thought.

Another letter that came in was printed by hand, and came with a smaller box.

“Dear Yarn Bomb Yukon Collective

I am eleven years old and I live in Lansing Michigan.  I have crocheted the brown and green piece.  I love to crochet and knit and I wanted to help you yarn bomb the DC-3 plane.  I feel good giving you this piece to yarn bomb the plane with because I feel like I am helping you achieve the world record you are trying for.  I want you to know that people of all ages care about this achievement and I want you to know how much I care.  I hope you win the world record.

Sincerely

Sophia [last name]

11 years old

Lansing, MI  ”

Both letters carry the excitement we were hoping for.  Both boxes had knitting to add.

It doesn’t matter your age.  Or your skill.  Only your enthusiasm and your belief.

From the National Arts Centre in Ottawa to the home of Sophia in Lansing, Michigan.  Everyone gets knitted together.

Keep watching!  We’re gonna cover ourselves a PLANE!

