Why do I yarn bomb?

Working on a yarn bomb in downtown Whitehorse

The finished yarn bomb. Photo courtesy of Norm Hamilton. Thanks Norm!

We’ve been receiving quite a lot of wonderful press these days and the question always comes up. Why do I yarn bomb?

I yarn bomb because it’s an extension of my artistic practice, which is based in textiles and community engagement.  To learn more about my art, please visit my site
There are so many reasons I do yarn bomb, but here are just a few

I like being a part of and inspired by an international art and activism movement.

To collaborate with other crafters and artists

To learn new skills

To create and promote hand made products and fibre arts

To have fun

To temporarily brighten and beautify the environment / urban landscape

Why do you yarn bomb?

Yarn Bombing in the Yukon winter

